Why I Don’t Believe in Eternal Torment

This is a post I made for another discussion forum, but I spent some time on it, so I’ll throw it on here.  This blog lists some of why I don’t believe in the mainstream concept of hell, aka eternal torment.

I definitely don’t believe there is a hell now, because the Bible says that the dead know nothing (Ecclesiastes 9:5).  If we went to heaven or hell when we died, Lazarus probably would have said something about it worth writing down (John 11:17, 43).

I believe that the dead are dead until they are resurrected.  The dead in Christ are resurrected first, then the rest (Revelation 20:4-6).  Notice it says the “second death” has no power over the people who are part of the first resurrection.  Again, as we see in Ecclesiastes 9:5, the dead know nothing.  That’s enough for me to be confident that the dead are destroyed, not kept alive in suffering.

More scripture supporting the destruction of the wicked includes:

Ezekiel 18:4, Ezekiel 26:21, Ezekiel 28:18-19, Malachi 4:1, Psalm 37:20, Psalm 104:35, Isaiah 47:14, Nahum 1:10

I believe that it’s important to remember that words like eternal and forever aren’t always literal, things can be lost in translation.  If I say “may the king live forever,” that’s not necessarily literal.

2 Peter 2:6 and Jude 1:7 might be compared…..the fire might be eternal, the punishment might be eternal, but the life isn’t eternal.  Sodom and Gomorrah are obviously no longer standing, right?

The promise of eternal life was promised to God’s people, to those who have righteousness, by faith.

Romans 2:7, Romans 6:23, 1 Corinthians 15:53-54, 1 Timothy 6:16, 2 Timothy 1:10, and…

John 3:16
16″For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.

I believe that there are two kinds of people, those who will receive eternal life, and those who won’t.

I’ll try to wrap this up by showing that the lake of fire, which is called the second death(Revelation 20:14), is on earth(Revelation 20:14), and it seems earth is destroyed(Revelation 21:1).


I do admit that there are a few verses that are hard to understand, I see where people are coming from on each side, but this is what I believe.  The weight of evidence on the subject points to destruction, not eternal torment.  If anyone has any questions….ask.  I certainly haven’t covered it all in this one short blog, but I think the scripture speaks for itself.

I could probably expand on all this, but for now, I’m done. 

God Bless 🙂

2 Responses to “Why I Don’t Believe in Eternal Torment”

  1. bryanwithay Says:

    I feel like I should have emphasized Romans 6:23

  2. totaltransformation Says:

    Good points. I liked the post.

Leave a Reply

