Intro

Hola.  So, my name is BrYan(with a Y), and I’m a seventh Day Adventist Christian.  I’m also a college student, still trying to figure out what I want to do with my life.  I’m new to blogging, and I’m not sure how much I’ll get on here, but I’ll probably write something once in a while.  God Bless 🙂

16 Responses to “Intro”

  1. john Says:

    Bryan,
    Hello my name is john, I noticed that you posted a comment on a blog that I have been participating in. I just wanted to clarify that I dont beleve he is the author of confusion, yet if my previous argument (referring to the Trinity) was true then he must be, or the trinity cannot exist as is and god, the son and the holy s. must be individuals.
    Moving on, I noticed that you are a christian. Very good i too am a christian. I have a cerian argument for you. I would like to have your opinion about it and answer it logically and not with emotion.
    Here it is…
    1. If God exist, then God is omnipotent, omniscient, and morally perfect.
    2. If God is Omnipotent, then God has the power to eliminate all evil.
    3. If God is omniscient, then God knows when evil exist.
    4. If God is morally perfect, then God has all the desire to eliminate all evil.
    5. Evil Exist.
    6. If evil exist and God exist, then either God dosen’t have the power to eliminate all evil, or dosen’t know when evil exist dosen’t have the desire to eliminate all evil.
    7. Therefore, God dosent exist
    Its called the problem of evil (im shure that you have herd of it) could you give me some insight on it?
    thank you,
    John

  2. bryanwithay Says:

    Hi John
    First, I will say that I think there is a danger in trying to over reason some of these things. As I said on the other blog, I don’t think any of us can fully comprehend the nature of God. We can try, and gain a closer understanding, but as paul said, “great is the mystery of Godliness” – 1 Timothy 3:16, Job 11:7

    As far as why Sin exists, I saw a great article about that somewhere a while ago, but I’ll have to track that down……I think the basic idea, though, is that God gives us the freedom of choice, which includes the choice to sin.

    Sin is like a disease or addiction or something, and God has the cure. He’s willing to give it to us, but we have to choose to accept it. Ultimately, those who accept the Holy Spirit will be saved, and those who reject the Holy Spirit will be destroyed. God is not willing that any should be lost, though, so He is willing to delay that, to a point.

    God, being just, will not remove our freedom to choose, although we still have to live with the consequences of our choices. Anything else would make God unjust.

  3. john Says:

    Bryan,
    Thank you for that post..
    Yet, please permit me to adress the idea of “mystery” the scripture in timothy 3:16 and job 11:17 are refering to godliness which could mean the mind of god, which i must assert is all-knowing, thus humman mind cannot possible grab hold of that. However, a true God must be a logical god, or he causes deception and confusion, if that happens they he cannot be all-good… thus, we see that it is important to look at our belifs from a logical point of view rather than accept what men havve told us…
    here is an argument for that
    1. Mankind can be deceived into believing falsely. (premise)
2. Religion is a creation of mankind. (premise)
3. So, mankind can be deceived into believing false religious beliefs.
(1,2)
4. If God is omni-benevolent, then He will not permit mankind to be deceived.(premise)
5. God is omnipotent, omniscient, omnibenevolent, and omnipresent.
(premise)
6. Therefore, God doesn’t allow mankind to be deceived. (4,5)
7. Thus, mankind might be deceived into believing false religious
beliefs but it’s not God’s fault. (3,6)

  4. john Says:

    Also, I must say something…If you disagree with my reasoning..provide resoning for WHY. Any one can dismiss something if they cant answer it.

  5. bryanwithay Says:

    Ok, I’ll try to respond to you chains of reasoning.

    A response to your first post:
    (1) Fancy words, but yeah, that sounds good. (2) For sure, He has the power. (3) Yup, I’m still with you. (4) Ah, for sure, God would rather Evil not exist. Yet, being just, He doesn’t want to remove the freedom of choice. It’s sort of like a parent who finally loosens the chain on his/her children, allowing the kid(teen) to make his or her own decisions, even if the results are less than desirable. (5) Yes, it does (6) Or, God has a reason for not forcibly removing the existence of evil. (7) No, God does exist. Just because you and I might not fully understand the mind of God, the reasons He does what He does, doesn’t mean He doesn’t exist. God is not restricted by our understanding.

    A response to your second post:
    (1) Yes, we can be decieved. (2) No, not exactly. Religion is basically God’s creation, but men have taken it and changed it. (3) Yes. (4,5,6) No. Here’s where we’re going to have to once again seperate in reasoning. God is all good, but that doesn’t mean He won’t “permit” anyone to be decieved. I believe that God offers His truth to all, and that His evidence is everywhere, and that those truly seeking Him will find Him and be blessed by the Holy Spirit. However, we can choose to reject truth, and we can reject the Holy Spirit. (7) Ah, I agree with you there.

  6. bryanwithay Says:

    Well John, it has been interesting, but I’m going to leave this conversation where it is for now. It’s the Sabbath, so I’d rather spend this time off of the computer. God Bless, though 🙂

  7. john Says:

    I would like to talk about the steping stone analogy that you provided, It was enjoyable. However, it never addressed what I was trying to lead.
    lets examen it,
    If a man is lead to X by way of the spirit, and X is a false truth, then that man exist in falshoods.
    If a man is lead to Y by way of the spirit and Y is the a terrbile descsion then that man has been harmend by the spirit.
    If X,Y both cause terrible outcomes and those men are living in confusuin and sin, which the never recover from (which is common in the realm of chiristian denominations) then, How can we justify the Spirit will eventually lead me to Z. If that is true then hell cannot exist. If the spirit always leads men to Z, ignoring the results of X and Y then christ lied when he spoke of damnation for the sinners and the stubborly confused.

  8. bryanwithay Says:

    The Holy Spirit does not lead you to false places, the Holy Spirit only leads to the truth, no matter where you starting from. Obviously it doesn’t happen all at once, obviously it takes time. God works in His own mysterious ways, but He will not lead you to bad places. That’s not to say you won’t go through any tribulations, but there’s a light at the end of the tunnel 🙂

    Oh, and Hell doesn’t exist.

  9. bryanwithay Says:

    Oh, and just in case my last post was unclear, I meant to point out that not everyone follows the Holy Spirit(I’m sure I’ve said that in other posts, though)

  10. john Says:

    Oh ok now we are getting somewhere. So, not everyone follows the holy spirit…so that means that someone is lying when they say they were guided when in reality the were not. So we come to the fact that men creat ideas…thus, the teachings that you, or I recive could be incorrect. Weather it be the Idea of the trinity, or the Godhead.
    So one has reason to use logic to evaluate lies and deception
    thank you
    john

  11. bryanwithay Says:

    Yeah, people could be decieved into believing false things though. Isaiah 8:20

  12. john Says:

    Well Bryan thank you for the opportunity that I had to discuss these things with you. I wish you peace and happiness in this life. I would like to apologize if I made any coments that appeared to be negitive or attacking. I am sorry if that happend i never ment to do it intentionally. Thank you for the insight I really appreciate it.
    John

  13. bryanwithay Says:

    God Bless 🙂 And don’t worry, you didn’t offend me, and I wasn’t afraid of a little debate. When I spoke out before, it was more because I didn’t want katyjane to feel attacked…

  14. john Says:

    thank you I understand. Please have a nice night and God bless.
    john

  15. JESS Says:

    THW SDA CHURCH IS TEACHING YOU DECEPTIVE TEACHINGS.
    I WAS BORN AND RAISED IN IT FOR OVER 20 YEARS UNTIL I STARTED TO READ THE BIBLE WITHOUT ELLEN WHITE GLASSES ON AND ALLOWED THE HOLY SPRIT TO REVEAL THE SDA CHURCH AS IT REALLY IS..
    WOULD BE INTERESTED TO EXCHANGE SCRIPTURE WITH YOU

  16. bryanwithay Says:

    Wow…so many responses for a simple intro 😛

    Hello Jess, I am an Adventist because I believe that the Adventist church teaches what the Bible teaches. I wasn’t sure for a while, but in college, I started seriously studying the Bible, and came to the conclusion that the Adventist church is in fact the church for me.

    I hadn’t even read anything from Ellen White until months after being baptised into the church, but I do believe she was inspired as well. I believe that her writings are inspired because they align perfectly with scripture. However, when talking about doctrine with non Adventists like yourself, I will be glad to stick to the Bible. Ellen White’s main role in the church was to get people back to the truth of the Bible, and that’s what I plan on sticking to.

    I plan on doing various religious blogs from time to time, I was thinking about doing one on the Sabbath, which is obviously something that’s close to my heart. If there’s any subject you’d like to talk about, let me know, maybe I’ll blog about it.

    Just out of curiosity, how did you find your way to my blog? I’m just curious about how people “blog surf” or whatever. Was my blog linked somewhere?

    One more thing….you don’t need to type in all caps, I won’t overlook your post or anything like that.

    Well, God Bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

